top of page

Reflecting on many years as a lifer at W+H

By Nick Vargas '23


I have attended Wardlaw+Hartridge my entire life, from when I was a tiny Pre-K student, to now, a senior on the brink of graduation. It has truly been a privilege to be a part of the W+H family for so long.

Throughout my 15 years as a Wardlaw+Hartridge student, I have made countless memories that I cherish every day, and can confidently say that my experiences here have shaped me into the person I am today. I have made friends in Lower, Middle, and Upper School, all of whom are the most incredible people I know.

From day one, the W+H community has been close-knit, positive, and uplifting. There is a looming competitive energy amongst the student body; however, from my experience, being surrounded by people who are constantly striving to be better has pushed me to do the same. If you look down any corridor in the building you might see one student who looks like you, and 10 more who look different from yourself and each other. It seems like every division, grade, and classroom in the school is so diverse, filled with students of varying demographics.

W+H diversity in general, along with frequent cultural celebrations and presentations, has had such a positive impact on my character. W+H is a place where you can try new things without being judged. Also, my ability as a student to personalize my schedule, beyond the core curriculum of course, has allowed me to take classes that cater to my passion and desired career, and has set me up for success in the future. I have benefited the most from the math department at W+H; in particular, Ms. Haddam and Mr. K’s exceptional ability to make the ever-so-daunting calculus a little bit less scary. I must also give credit to the English department for how much I have developed into a strong and confident writer.

My education is something that I can never take for granted, and I am incredibly lucky to have been able to attend this institution for my entire life with such amazing friends, students, teachers, and administrators.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page